• 01276 855 847 Nationwide (UK)
  • info@bmscontrols.co.uk Email Us
  • Unit C1D, Fairoaks Airport Surrey, GU24 8HX

BMS Controls FAQ

What Stages Do Building Control Inspect?

What Stages Do Building Control Inspect?


Are you in the process of constructing a building or planning to do so? If yes, then understanding the stages that building control inspects is crucial. Building control inspections are carried out at several points during construction to ensure that everything is up to code and safety standards. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at the different stages involved in building control inspections, their importance and how they can affect your project’s success. So, grab your hard hat and let’s dive into it!

What is a Building Control Inspection?

A building control inspection is a routine check of the health and safety of a building. A building control inspector will check to make sure that all necessary safety regulations are being followed, inspect the structure for signs of decay or hazardous conditions, and investigate any complaints about the building.

What are the Stages of a Building Control Inspection?

The four stages of a building control inspection are as follows:
1. Identification – The inspector will identify the building and its components.
2. Assessment – The inspector will determine whether the building is in compliance with current regulations.
3. Documentation – The inspector will document any findings and make recommendations for improvement.
4. Follow-up – The inspector will follow up on any recommendations to ensure that the changes are implemented.

What are the Objectives of a Building Control Inspection?

The objectives of a building control inspection vary depending on the entity conducting the inspection, but typically include verifying that all necessary requirements for construction have been met and identifying any potential deficiencies. Inspectors may also carry out investigations into possible violations of regulations.

How do you Conduct a Building Control Inspection?

When conducting a building control inspection, the inspector will typically conduct four stages: reconnaissance, investigation, observation and documentation.
Reconnaissance is when the inspector checks to see if the building is in compliance with applicable codes and regulations. This includes checking for obvious problems such as missing or deteriorated fixtures, signage or wiring, but also looking for less apparent violations such as pests or hazardous materials.
Investigation is where the inspector conducts a more detailed analysis of specific areas of concern, such as identifying potential sources of air pollution or unsafe construction practices.
Observation is where the inspector takes measurements and makes notes about what they see during their visit. This information will be used to create a report that details the findings of the inspection.
Documentation is where the inspector records observations and makes any necessary recommendations in writing.